All Things Baby Evang



It Is A Girl

Wow so we went to the doctor again this past week and this time we did the full ultrasound. We got to see tons of views, appendages, blood flow, heartbeats, and most importantly, the sex of our child. The doctor told us that she believed Katy was 16 weeks pregnant, which was a week or two more than we had expected. 4 MONTHS! CRAZINESS! We got to see all kinds of things; feet, hands, head, toes, thumbs, spine, you name it we saw it. She told us from what she could see everything looked good which is all I really wanted to hear! After she snapped about 50 pics and told us what we were looking at on all of them (because it is kinda hard to tell when you aren’t used to it) and then she asked us if we wanted to know the sex. Katy really wanted to and while I didn’t necessarily; we had agreed we would and that will definitely be better in the end. So she said “..and here you can see the labia so, you are having a girl.” At this point we were both overcome with joy. It is one thing to know you are having a baby but knowing the sex of the baby makes it that much more real and takes you from “You’re having a baby” to “You’re having a girl”.

The books that Katy has typically said you would find out the sex at 20 weeks so when she offered to tell us I was a little shocked. I mean this is early right? The doctor said she was fairly certain and seeing as she is the expert we took her at her word. When we go back in a month for another ultrasound to see if the baby is developing fine they would confirm it is indeed a girl but Katy and I were hooked already. She said girl and I think both of us fought back the tears of joy. Not because we wanted one sex over another but just because we knew. Just as you feel when you find out you’re pregnant those same emotions come over you again when you are told you’re a having a ____. Also, I was right πŸ˜‰ I didn’t brag but for some reason Katy thought it was a boy and I thought girl. Although it was really no more than a lucky guess πŸ™‚

So without further ado we bring to you our little “Shevang” (don’t worry she’ll get a real name later πŸ˜€ )

First Baby Ultrasound

First Baby Ultrasound

Cute little baby foot

Cute little baby foot

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * carol dacosta says:

    this is such a great idea and its awesome! just reading about you too and baby is so exciting. i can only imagine how the two of you are feeling… thanks for sharing this moment of your lives with us all…

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
    • * noel says:

      You two are going to be such good parents. I’m excited for you both. Katy, I was totally wrong about the sex of our baby, too. I was so scared to have a boy, but my father in law bought me “The complete idiot’s guide to raising boys.” LOL. I feel much better now. Congratulations you two. Having a baby brings so much happiness. Like a dog, but even better!

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Katie says:

    So exciting you guys! I am glad you have a blog now!! Craxy you can even see the little baby spine. Surreal, surreal. So I guess by ‘surprise’ this means you weren’t exactly trying??

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  3. Grammy, is very excited. Even had to go shopping yesterday! Adam and Katy you will make great parents (of course I’m just a little biased).

    Grammy needs a new baby to love on and spoil!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Derrick says:

    As a future Uncle I feel it necessary to tell you I’m still going to give little Shevang the good fireworks to cause mischief with…

    I look forward to intimidating future boy friends with Adam…. I’ll bring over all my guns and conveniently be cleaning them when she brings boys over… πŸ˜‰

    Congrats guys!

    ~Derrick

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

